By-Laws for Commission on Women

Composition:

The commission will be composed of twelve members. Three members will hold faculty titles and, to the extent possible, will represent different colleges or schools. Faculty members will represent a combination of tenured/tenure-track, and non-tenure track status. Three members will be non-classified staff. Three members will be classified staff. Three members will be students; two will be undergraduate students and one will be a graduate student. Members are expected to have experience with and knowledge of issues that have an impact on women.

Officers:

The officers of the commission shall be a chair, a vice chair, and a secretary. The chair and vice chair roles will rotate biennially between faculty and staff positions among the membership.

1. Chair

The chair shall preside over meetings of the commission and shall appoint ad hoc committees necessary for the function of the commission. The chair will serve a two-year term and can be reappointed for one additional term. The position is appointed by the chancellor and provost and will be provided limited administrative support.

2. Vice Chair

The vice chair of the commission shall be nominated, from the commission's membership and selected by the chancellor and the provost, in consultation with the commission chair. The vice chair shall serve in the absence of the chair and will serve a two-year term with the possibility of reappointment for one additional term.

3. Secretary

The secretary of the commission will keep minutes of the meetings and provide the minutes of items discussed and votes taken to the commission members. Minutes will not attribute comments to specific individuals.

Membership:

- 1. The Commission will elect a three-person Membership Nominating Committee. The Membership Nominating Committee will be responsible for soliciting and reviewing all nominations and verifying nominees' willingness and availability to serve. The vice chair will preside over the Membership Nominating Committee.
- 2. Nominees will come from the faculty, students, and staff of the university community. Individuals nominated to the commission must have an interest in furthering the goals and accomplishing the work of the commission and must be available to attend meetings. Individuals are allowed to nominate themselves.
- 3. The Membership Nominating Committee will present to the commission a diverse slate of nominees that represents a balance among faculty, staff, students, disciplines, and programs.
- 4. The commission shall approve the nominees by a quorum vote.
- 5. The chair is responsible for submitting the slate of nominees for membership on the commission to the chancellor and provost for approval and appointment.
- 6. There will be an *ex officio* member of each of the following:
 - Faculty Senate
 - Staff Senate
 - Chancellor's Office
 - Provost's Office
 - Associated Student Government

Terms of Appointment:

The commission members will serve staggered terms of three years to be decided by a random draw at the first meeting of the commission.

Members appointed to the commission after July 1, 2010 will serve three years, with the term to begin on July 1.

If a member leaves the commission before the end of her/his term, an individual may be appointed to the remainder of the term at the discretion of the chair in consultation with the chancellor and the provost.

If a member leaves the commission for a temporary period, a replacement may be appointed for the duration of the temporary period at the discretion of the chair in consultation with the chancellor and the provost.

Reappointment:

Individuals may be reappointed to a second term at the discretion of the chancellor and provost.

No member may serve more than two consecutive terms.

Individuals replacing a member for the remainder of a term may serve two consecutive terms following the remainder term.

Individuals who serve one term may sit out for one term and return for another term.

Voting:

Each appointed member shall have one vote. *Ex officio* members are non-voting.

Two-thirds or sixty-six percent constitute a quorum. The quorum may be obtained through electronic attendance as well as through physical presence.

A simple majority (fifty-one percent of the membership) is required for all commission decisions, except for changes to the by-laws for which a quorum vote is required.

If a recommendation is needed in less than 24 hours, the chair shall have authority to render a recommendation. If time permits, the chair will post an emergency recommendation electronically to obtain input from the commission.

Meetings:

The commission will meet at least one time each semester and more frequently if issues warrant more discussion and input. Commission members are expected to attend all meetings, and every effort will be made to find a time and date that allows for full attendance.

The chair or the vice chair of the commission will schedule meetings.

Confidentiality:

The commission members adhere to a policy of strict confidentiality. Conversations with the chancellor and the provost are advisory and confidential. Members of the university community should feel free to consult with members of the commission and to express their opinions in confidence in accordance with University policies and procedures and to the extent allowed by the State of Arkansas